Poses are categorized by anatomical parts like shoulders, hips, knees, and ankles, as well as movements such as extension and flexion. This detailed information is valuable for yoga practitioners at every skill level to grasp the anatomy of poses and movements more effectively.


Each chakra affects different aspects of our physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being.

When energy channels (nadis) become blocked due to unhealthy habits and old patterns, the chakras stagnate, resulting in a sluggish life force that can impact physical, mental, and emotional health.

Various yoga poses influence different organs and systems in our body. By practicing specific poses that target each chakra, individuals can harmonize their physical, emotional, and spiritual energies, leading to a more balanced and satisfying life.

Practicing specific poses helps to rejuvenate the nadis and chakras, enabling prana to flow freely.

These poses are categorized to regulate the flow of prana, allowing the related chakras and their associated organs and systems to function optimally, promoting overall well-being and harmony.


Dosha possesses unique traits that impact our physical and mental well-being. Practicing Asana can be a powerful method to maintain balance and enhance our overall well-being. The asanas are categorized based on their primary influence on the body and mind, which is associated with imbalances in the doshas.

Vata: Front bending and hip-opening poses work well for harmonizing Vata. Incorporating strengthening and balancing poses can also help alleviate various Vata-related conditions, such as joint pain, flatulence, and musculoskeletal issues related to the small and large intestines.

Pitta: Twists and side-bending poses help regulate digestion, assimilation, and absorption processes for Pitta Dosha. These movements aid in circulation in the abdomen, balancing Pitta, and addressing conditions concerning the liver, spleen, gall bladder, stomach, duodenum, and pancreas.

Kapha: Backbends are beneficial for stimulating Kapha's energy and easing chest congestion common in Kapha individuals. These poses can alleviate issues related to sinuses, nostrils, throat, and lungs.

Keep in mind that the doshas vary throughout the year, with each dosha having its corresponding season. Seek guidance from a knowledgeable teacher to maximize the benefits and maintain dosha balance effectively.


The poses' intensity is classified according to individuals who practice yoga daily for at least a year.

It's essential to note that the intensity of the poses serves as a general guide to grasp the complexity of the steps leading to the final pose and the pose's difficulty itself.

The intensity of each pose is influenced by the breathing techniques employed.

It's essential to practice mindfully and under the expert guidance of a knowledgeable and experienced yoga instructor.


A Marma point signifies a meeting point of various tissues on the body, including muscles, veins, ligaments, bones, or joints.

Marmas are key elements in traditional Siddha medicine and Ayurveda acupressure, with "Marma" translating to "secret" or "hidden." These points are akin to acupuncture points in Chinese Medicine and hold significance as they can influence life and death.

There are a total of 108 Marma points distributed across the body, each carrying essential life force energy.

By applying pressure on these Marma points, healing and energy are channeled through the subtle energy pathways known as "nadis," benefiting the body, mind, and consciousness.

These critical points also align with the seven chakras, the energy centers within the body.

Practice of yoga asanas, when performed correctly and mindfully, involving specific durations based on individual health conditions, gently stimulates Marma points, aiding in the release of blocked energy within the body.


Poses are categorized based on the initial step of the pose or the approach taken. For Example - Chakrasana, also known as the Wheel pose, can be classified in two different ways in position category.

If the pose is executed from a standing position to a drop back, it falls under the category of standing back bending poses.

When performed from a supine position on the back and then lifted into the Wheel pose, it is classified as a supine back bending pose.

Please refer to the relevant pose video on each page, as there are multiple videos demonstrating the same pose with different approaches as mentioned above.


What is Prana?

Regulates all physical functions

There are five major vayus in the body — Udana, Prana, Samana, Apana, and Vyana — each governing a specific area of your body and its functions.

Prana Vayu

Prana vayu is a fundamental energy that governs the circulation of oxygen and life-force energy throughout the body, maintaining overall vitality and well-being. It primarily functions in the Heart Chakra and the chest.

Certain asanas, such as side bends and back bending, that help expand and open the chest regions are beneficial for activating the prana.

Apana Vayu

Apana vayu functions in the pelvic region of the body and is responsible for elimination functions, such as urination, bowel movements, and menstruation.

Certain asanas, including twisting and front bending poses, can help activate these regions and are especially beneficial for activating apana.

Samana Vayu

Samana vayu is the vital force located in the Solar Plexus Chakra, just above the navel. It is responsible for facilitating digestion, metabolism, and nutrient distribution throughout the body.

Certain asanas, such as twisting and front bending, help stimulate the abdominal region and are beneficial for activating samana.

Udana Vayu

Udana vayu circulates in the region above the heart and governs actions like swallowing, facial expressions, and speech.

Certain asanas, such as inversions that direct energy to the head, neck, and upper back, are beneficial for activating udana.

Vyana Vayu

Vyana vayu facilitates distribution systems in the body, including the movement of energy through the nadis.

It controls circulatory, lymphatic, and nervous systems, and directs muscle movements. When vyana vayu is out of balance, the other vital energies are affected.

Certain asanas, like inversions and deep twisting and binding poses, are beneficial for activating vyana vayu.